Root Chakra

By Carrie Spry

There are seven main chakras or energy centers located throughout the body. This article will detail the first of the seven, called the Root or Base chakra. The Root Chakra is located at the base of the spine between the genitals and the anus.

Being the first chakra, all other chakras get this power from this one. Our survival instincts and the earth are represented by the root chakra. Our primal erotic and procreational urges are governed by the Root Chakra. It is also the center of physical energy and related to our sense of grounding in the physical world. This chakra allows us to connect to earth energies and this enables us to empower our being.

This chakra also contains the primary 8 cells that have all the knowledge of creation and remain the only cells in our body that do not change in our lifetime. The Root Chakra governs issues around physical self-preservation, stability, acceptance, deep-rootedness, perception, fear, stillness, health, prosperity and safety. The Root Chakra is the center for manifestations.

Each chakra can be in one of four stages. The worst stage is closed, this means that no energy is getting through. The chakra can then progress through under-active, and then even more to an open stage. Open is the desire stage for each chakra. If there is too much energy, the chakra can become over-active.

A closed or under-active Root chakra can act as follows, weak, lack of confidence, unable to achieve goals, non-existent sexual energy, suicidal, fear, insecurity, feel unloved. A core sense of unworthiness will result in a blocked root chakra as well as shame and self-doubt. People who have under-active Root chakras are often materialistic, controlling and have addictive personalities.

If your Root chakra is open you will have a great physical body, unlimited physical energy and the ability to manifest abundance. You will feel alive, healthy, centered and grounded. You love your body and your life.

If your Root chakra is over-active, you are egoistic, greedy, judgmental, opinionated, domineering and your sexual energy will be entirely genital. To tone down your root chakra, you can begin by wearing the color green and practice being present in the moment.

The colors of the root chakra are red and black. If your chakra is under-active or closed, wearing these colors will help to bring it in balance. Others things you can do to balance this chakra is to used stones, essential oils, and other scents. This chakra's element is earth. It is usually development within the womb to 1 year old. The enemy of this chakra is fear. - 30540

About the Author:

Sign Up for our Free Newsletter

Enter email address here